

Celebrating Our People - Desigan Nayager

Michael Miebach recently announced the MEA President Award winners. In a series of articles we will catch up with each of the winners and find out more about their achievements. This first is Desigan Nayager, who won the Customer Service Award.

Desigan was recognized for facilitating the fastest bank certification project in Africa (in five weeks) and has been instrumental in a number of game-changing projects for the industry. These include our recent work with EcoCash, a partnership with EMIS in Angola, leading a settlement between Standard Bank and Swazi Bank and supporting PayCorp (South Africa) on their settlement set-up.

MC Central: What does this award mean to you?

Desigan: Winning this award has been an amazing experience and an honor to receive. I am grateful to my colleagues who nominated me. It's great knowing that I am adding value to the business and am recognized for my work.

MC Central: What inspires your great customer service ethic?

Desigan: Customer satisfaction is what drives me. I believe that service delivery plays a very important role in differentiating ourselves from our competitors. Bettering MEA's Voice of the Customer results is a key objective this year, and we can do it if we all play our part.

MC Central: What qualities do you think make up a good customer service consultant? Desigan: Patience, attentiveness, clear communication skills, agility, a willingness to learn and commitment to empower others are all very important qualities.

MC Central: What was the most valuable lesson in customer service that you have ever learned?

Desigan: It is important to listen, understand and then act. It becomes a futile effort if you only understand a portion of a customer's request.

MC Central: What's something most people don't know about you?

Desigan: I am a neat freak, bordering on obsessive compulsive disorder. I also participate in a monthly community service program where I provide meals and groceries to the underprivileged in the community.

Watch this space for updates from our other winners:

- Julian Philips CSR Award
- Anna Kaminska Innovation Award
- Nick Vora Leadership Award
- Virginia Miller Team Work Award
- The UBF Team Special Team Award
- One Africa Rewards Team Special Team Award